My daily journal entry… sinamun

Some time ago, I was chatting with my friend, Kristen, on Gmail. I wanted to see her Zimmertwins videos, and she mine. But neither of us really knew how to view the others’ videos. So she gave me her username, and I gave her mine, which was sinamun. And then she asked me how to pronounce it.

I felt a little bit embarrassed then, ’cause although sinamun is a play on words (the word being cinnamon), it does come with its disadvantages.

Have you ever owned a webkinz? If you have, you will know that when you reach the tournament arena, your username is shortened to the first three letters. For example, if your username was volleyball9160, and you had a goldfish named Fluffy, you’d be vol with Fluffy with a picture of Fluffy.

You get it, don’t you? So other people see me as sin with Sabine. Sin. Owch. But I can’t talk about that right now ’cause Daisy found some baby birds and we had to feed them bread saturated with milk and-

Calm down. Calm down. Okay, so here’s how it all started. I was writing in my journal at the black table, when Daisy came in from the kitchen holding a small, origami made box, probably made from a magazine page (we always keep a few of those on the microwave) and plonked it down next to the water jug. Naturally, Claire and I looked in. And what were in there? Baby birds. And I’m not talking about those adorable fuzzy little chicks you see in movies or stuff like that. No way, Jose. I’m talking two featherless, miniscule babies, who haven’t even opened their eyes yet, with reddish-brown transparent skin so you can see their body parts (internal). Their limbs are so feeble it’s all they can do to scoot around on their backs and wave their legs and twist their necks. But they are cute, I suppose, in that ugly duckling kind of way. At least, that’s what I thought. And the moment I saw them, with their petite yellow beaks and their black rimmed wings, a crazy, half-formed thought danced through my head: did Daisy find these when she was cracking eggs?
Look, I know it was stupid. And for a few reasons. One, why would Daisy be cracking eggs? We had tortellinis for lunch (this is a note I made afterwards). Two, If they were found in eggs, they’d be covered in sticky stuff. And they’d be dead. But still, don’t blame me. Blame my imagination.
“Woah, what are those?” Claire and I woahed.
After we called for Mom, Daisy explained she’d found the baby birds in our yard, soaked with water. Quickly she’d went inside, grabbed a box and a paper towel, and gently laid them inside. She had no idea what to do with them now.
We peered more closely into the box. One bird, a darker reddish color, was craning its neck and doing that thing birds do when they really want food. The other was paler and stirring feebly. They looked like they were going to die.
My mom launched a bird website, wondering if we could get worms from the bird store in time, and quickly dialed the number of my father, the bird expert, in the family. Daisy, Claire and I could only watch the birds, and wish and pray.
We could hear Mom in the other room: “Soak bread in cow milk? Okay… what about regular milk?” Quickly, we grabbed the milk and a piece of bread for her. She said, “Thanks,” and hung up.
The first piece of bread was a fail. The second, however, was okay. Using a chopstick and what looked like a plastic tuner, she attempted to put crumbs of saturated milk into the begging bird’s mouth. After a few tries, she did it. Yay! We fed the other bird as well, but their future was still unclear. But feeding them was fun.
Later, at lunch, my mom commented on and concocted a mixture consisting of egg yolk (as a solid), canned tuna, and a little bit of water which we used to feed the birds every quarter hour or so. But I don’t think they have a very fast digestive system (considerably fast by our standards, though), as right now both of their bellies are full and we’re expecting messes (yes, we can tell. Isn’t that gross?). But they both seem very healthy, and though the bird website says that 90-95% of birds taken in by humans die, I think these two might make it. Keep your fingers crossed.
2 thoughts on “My daily journal entry… sinamun

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed your account of days events and can’t wait to read tomorrow’s account. Your BLOG is too cool. Wish my BLOG was a cool as yours. I’m going to ready your BLOG every day. I am beginning to understand how a BLOG is different from other types of writing. Go BABY BIRDS—I’m rooting for you.

    • Thanks, shareyourspace! Your comment was very inspiring for me. But I also like your blog, and how you express your undying love for horses. Although I may have different views, the way you crafted your blog was awe inspiring and touching. I’ll be checking back for new posts.

Leave a Reply

